Student looking for advice.

AlomancyAlomancy Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I'm new here.

I'm also about to start my long and driven career in Security and Forensics.

So a bit about myself, I am a 24 year old student from Scotland in my final year. I graduate in December with a bachelors degree in Computer Security and Forensics. Every graduated student I have spoken too has never managed to get a security job and end up working in software or other roles far away from Security/Networks. I'm a little phased by this and decided to do some research into what types of jobs there are and what they are looking for. So far my search has found companies are asking for experience and certifications.

I have asked around at University and the only course they offer is the CCNA which I already have.

The other important things to consider is that i have 3 main directions, Live in the USA (I currently hold a US working visa after a years placement as a network engineer). Work in Security (e.g Information Security Engineer), and lastly (hopefully) work for a games company.

The Questions I need answers for is this.
  • Where should I be looking to get the required expierience I need to climb the ladders to reach my goal?
  • Should I start looking for Trainee network engineer jobs and progress during the time spent working?
  • Do I start in the UK?
  • Best certificates to gain (now or later)?
  • Is there a difference in certificates like CCNP(security), GCIA, GCFA? are there prerequisites I need to know about?
  • Whats the job market like and where is a good place to find such jobs in the USA?
lastly I would just like to say thank you very much for taking the time to read this, and any and all help is greatly appreciated.

A Confused Student (Alo)

Comments

• Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210