Options

Looking for guidance on career change

--chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
Sorry about the ambiguous title, i hate long wordy titles though.

ME:
Im 27, married w/1 year old. Ive got a A.S. in Management, ive been employed at my dads business and using that degree for 5 years. We are in SE Michigan, and to say business has really taken a hit...is putting it lightly. I told my dad two weeks ago im going back to school for "computer stuff", two days ago i signed up for a BS in Info technology and Security

Program details: https://carina.baker.edu/MSTSTPO?DLV=U&LOCNO=20006&DIV=CIS&DEG=BTS&CON=ITS&CVER=2013A&VER=2013A&DIVTTL=Bachelor%20of%20Information%20Technology%20and%20Security&PGMTTL=Information%20Technology%20and%20Security&PGMTTL1=&OFRTTL=THIS%20PROGRAM%20IS%20OFFERED%20AT%20THE%20FOLLOWING%20BAKER%20COLLEGE%20CAMPUS%20SITE%3A&CMPOFR=Auburn%20Hills&DEPT=ACD

I graduated from this institution so all of the pre-reqs are fulfilled, i just have to fulfill the "Core" requirements and the odds and ends to achieve a BS.

Thats me, i tried to keep it short and concise and i left out some details.

My question(s):

The last month at work has been brutally slow, so slow that payroll is not starting to get difficult to make. I signed up for the BS with the idea that i would have some time to transition into IT. Now its a possibility i might be out of work much sooner than i expected, and im wondering if i shouldn't drop the BS down to AAS to expedite the transition.

Does that sound like a mistake? I want to work in info security, which is why i choose that BS. However it seems like in IT (more so than any other industry) there are many ways to accomplish a goal...and i could always go online with the classes to achieve the BS in info sec after getting employed in IT.