Options

Need help configuring IP address?

amandavieauamandavieau Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, I have just started study for the CCNA. I'm pretty much new to networking and I started with a networking basics book instead of a CCNA study guide first. There is an exercise in the book on configuring your IP and I have two issues besides the fact that I have never done this before. First, when I followed the instructions in the book....it didn't work, when I went to ipconfig the IP address hadn't changed. Here's the instructions from the book:
1. Access local area connection properties dialog box
2. Click Internet Protocol Version 4, then click properties. By default, the dialog box options will be configured as “Obtain an IP address automatically” and “Obtain DNS server address automatically
3. Click the Use the following IP address radio button. This enables the other fields soyou can type in the desired IP information. Enter the following:
• For the IP address, enter 192.168.1.1
• For the Subnet mask, enter 255.255.255.0
• Leave the Default gateway and the Preferred DNS server fields blank
5. Click OK. Then, in the Local Area Connection Properties dialog box, click OK. This will
complete and bind the configuration to the network adapter.
6. Test your configuration. We will do this in two ways, first with the ipconfig command,
and second with the ping command.