Any IT Managers out there hiring entry level Network Engineers.

BigD5XBigD5X Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have 16 years of IT experience but not hands on Cisco support experience.
Yes I've done rack & stack and some cabling, cut & paste configs on Cisco routers and switches but I don't have that 2 or 3 year hands on experience every job seems to be looking for. And the funny thing is, it's almost to the point where most jobs descriptions are looking for a person with the same qualifications.

In addition to this I do Labs every day just to stay sharp. I use Packet Tracer and Boson Labs.

I've applied to smaller companies and targeting small contracts just so I can get my foot in the door. It seems that, that area is being flooded by people that is trying to break into networking and just getting their CCNAs such as myself. So with that being said, companies are stepping up the qualification requirements and seek more seasoned engineers. Entry level positions do exist but they are far and few between.

I'm pursuing my CCNP to be taken more seriously. Even though the CCNA was no joke. That test was very challenging.

What do you think ?

Comments

• CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm no manager, but it may be easier to start on a helpdesk. Thats what I did and was eventually promoted to a sysadmin who does a lot of Cisco work. I only have CCNA but I use pretty much every bit of the skillset one obtains from it on the job. Plus, I've picked up a lot of CCNP level knowledge (I am working toward this cert too). Next job I get (Which won't be soon) will be an engineer level job.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • IsmaeljrpIsmaeljrp Member Posts: 480 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What exactly is your 16 yrs of IT experience then ? You shouldn't be in the need for an entry-level job.
  • Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    Ismaeljrp wrote: »