Options

Career path for IT auditors..?

Big-JJBig-JJ Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

I majored in accounting/MIS back in university. My initial plan was to get CPA and become a business auditor. It is just that I happened to get myself into IT audit right after my university.

I have been working as an IT auditor for 4 years now. And I started wondering….what career path is out there for IT auditors?

Someone told me that audit is a road to get into management. This is the biggest reason why I got myself into audit profession. Is this true? Or have you guys seen this happening for IT auditors that you know of?

I am a bit lost on my career path at the moment. So any advice will be appreciated :)

Thx.
MBA, CIA, CRMA, CISA, CISM, CRISC, CISSP, PMP

Comments

• Options
    GoodBishopGoodBishop Member Posts: 359 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Big-JJ wrote: »
    Hi guys,

I majored in accounting/MIS back in university. My initial plan was to get CPA and become a business auditor. It is just that I happened to get myself into IT audit right after my university.

I have been working as an IT auditor for 4 years now. And I started wondering….what career path is out there for IT auditors?

Someone told me that audit is a road to get into management. This is the biggest reason why I got myself into audit profession. Is this true? Or have you guys seen this happening for IT auditors that you know of?

I am a bit lost on my career path at the moment. So any advice will be appreciated :)

Thx.
    I worked as a IT auditor for 2 years before becoming a GRC manager. It's a interesting profession. I wouldn't be where I am today had I not done my time as a auditor. It's worthwhile, though it might not seem like it initially.
  • Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■