Career Change into IT

Forest76Forest76 Registered Users Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm looking to change careers. I've been teaching (English) for 18 years but always been the "unofficial tech guy" in my building (so basically when people can't find the "ANY KEY" I handle it instead of work orders for the IT dept being filled out.)

I know I'll probably lose some money starting a new career and I'm okay as long as I can make 40k+ the first year and move up rapidly. My theory is that in a few years I can be where I was (62k) and move up much more quickly after that. I decided to go into IT because I've always tinkered with it and I'm always reading up on it in my free time (so I guess I'm passionate about it) and of course I enjoy being a fixer.

My question is, where do I start? I've been told A+ Net+ and MCSA, is that the way to go? I'd like to get into the field ASAP (need money coming in) but I have to look to the future as I have a family to support!

Thanks for the help.

Comments

• Jim PruittJim Pruitt Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Here's a thread that just got started and will probably help answer your question: http://www.techexams.net/forums/general-certification/91876-best-cert-start-into.html.
  • IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod