New to home lab setup

gypsymage777gypsymage777 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am looking to set up a home lab and I am not willing to purchase from a "kit" store because of the markup. This puts me at a disadvantage since purchasing network hardware is totally new to me and I want to make sure I get what I want. After some research, I still am confused on certain things. First of all, I am wondering about the IOS. If there is none, or I need to re-install or upgrade, how do I do that? (I'm also thinking about terms/conditions for GNS3 and if I upgrade flash also) What do I do if it is password protected? Also, I am looking to purchase a few 1841 routers. I think I need serial connections to connect them? (sorry, total newbie question...) Does the router come with these by default? Do they use the same WIC cards that the 2600xm series use? I would like 2 serial connections on each 1841. Lastly, is the Digi CM32 basically the same thing as the 2509/11 types of Cisco access servers? Also, any suggestions on a resource with a comprehensive "set up a CCNA home lab for dummies" that would help me out would be much appreciated.

Comments

• DCDDCD Member Posts: 473 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□
    1) If your looking on ebay it usually will say what IOS if any is on the device. You can then copy that IOS to a tftp server and use it to put it on your other 1841 routers (if they don't already have images that is). Personally I like having all my routers run the same IOS. Look up Cisco Feature Navigator for a comparison of all the different IOS releases.

2) If the device is password protected then you can do a password recovery on it. Look it up its not o difficult.

3) No they do not come with Serial WICs by default. And yes the WIC cards are interchangeable between the 1841 and 2600.

4) Yes the digiCM32 is a cheaper alternative to the 2511. I use a Digi :)