Already have an IT degree but want certs.

RenewedRenewed Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm aware that there are similar threads but most I've found are for people who are looking to switch into IT or don't have a degree already.

I have a B.S. in Computer Information Technology already from a well-known university. The issue I'm having with that is that my plan of study was rather broad and what we did specialize in, I'm not particularly interested in. I'd like to focus on either Network Administration or Security instead. I have some limited knowledge on both.

Right now I'm debating whether to get the proper certification for either such as the COMPTIA Security and probably self-study or take a class at a community college to prep for it. That brings additional issues as there are a lot of options but costs can be a bit high and I'm not sure if it's really worth paying or better to learn on my own.

Another route is to see if I can land a very entry-level position related to either of these fields and see if I can develop my skills there without having to get certified as I tend to pick up things quickly and like I said, I already have a background in IT, just not too knowledgeable in those particular aspects.

Would appreciate some advice from others on here in the field or who have been in a similar predicament as myself.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I honestly think your best bet and most bang for your buck and time would go towards the CCNA. Getting the CCNA would be a huge boost for landing a network specific position and it sure the heck wouldn't hurt for a security position. That's my two cents.
  • boobobobobobboobobobobob Member Posts: 118