Last man standing, everyone else quit and now all eyes on me.

grathgrath Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working help desk for almost 2 years now. I've moved into a jr system engineer position in the last two months and have been trying to learn as much as I can about our environment. I have ("had" until now) some awesome coworkers, but unfortunately for me (I'm happy for them though) they have all recently moved on to bigger and better positions at other companies.

The last one is leaving next Friday. Now my boss and the other three help desk guys as well as a couple devs are looking to me to step up. My ex-coworkers have stated its a great opportunity to learn as much as I can and maybe move on to something else down the road.

I'm kind of freaking out because I don't have near enough the experience those guys had. I have learned a lot since moving into my new position (as backup for the three of them). I was to learn to backup each of their specialties when they needed assistance with administration for networking/phones, vmware and storage administration.

Now my boss doesn't expect me instantly become a guru in all three, but it doesn't help that I am already getting advanced requests on vpn tunnels, spinning up new VMs, right-sizing datastores, and I keep thinking I am gonna crack.

Any advice or anyone get in a similar situation? How did you handle it?

Comments

• elToritoelTorito Member Posts: 102
    When I was promoted to Jr. Sysadmin (coming from a desktop support role) a couple of years ago, they simply gave me the password file with all the relevant login credentials, and I was left to figure things out for myself.