Options

How can I get into SP networking?

realdreamsrealdreams Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
So here is my story.
I have been working on networking stuff since HS (tried to start a small ISP), got CCNA in college, which was really easy. I did an internship as infrastructure support for one summer while I was in college. They didn't let me to do much advanced stuff but I did get exposed to ASA, NX-OS, UCS, VMware etc. I have a lab with FreeNAS, MikroTik and of course Cisco L2/L3 switches. I have some experience with Asterisk, iSCSI, SAN, vSphere. Some interviewers like the diversity but some thinks its a minus (not concentrated).

What I really want to network engineer/architect in a service provider or large enterprise (companies in NANOG). I am going to get CCNP next week (hopefully, I passed CCNP Route already). But after I graduated from college I had almost no luck finding a job... A Tier-1 ISP did give me a NOC engineer offer but due to some timing issue I couldn't take it... After than I didn't even get a second interview from any company...

Now I am kinda frustrated.. Almost every network engineering job requires a couple years of work experience, my experience as a hobby does not really count as work experience. So it's hard to get pass the HR. Some interviewers actually told me their boss wanted someone with more experience.

I did have a couple interviews, but either the interviewer was asking totally irrelevant questions (small company or kinda tech support position), or the questions are kinda overwhelming (QinQ, lower layer mechanisms like PHY, optics wavelength). Only 20% of interviewers ask BGP, OSPF questions which I consider relevant but too bad I wasn't ready back then...