Options

Degree needed for linux administration?

W StewartW Stewart Member Posts: 794 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm currently enrolled in WGU and have about two years worth of college credits under my belt even though WGU doesn't give out Associates Degrees. I know a bachelors degree isn't really a hard requirement because I currently work as a Jr Systems Administrator for a web hosting company but it seems the most linux administrator job postings that I've seen at other companies want a bachelors degree or twice the amount of experience if you don't have one. I don't think I'd find myself unable to get another job but I'd like to make sure that I would be able to get another job doing linux administration if need be.

Are their any linux administrators on this site who have less than a Bachelors Degree and if so, has not having a Bachelors Degree made it difficult for you to find employment?

Have you found that most companies have been willing to wave the degree requirement and do you think employers would look at two years of school at a 4 year college as equivalent to an Associates Degree?

Also do you think it's worth continuing to pursue a degree even if I need to take out student loans to do so or should I just focus on certifications and experience for now and pay down what student loan debt I do have before it becomes to much?

Comments

• Options
    danitykanedanitykane Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    That is stupid HR for you. In theory a bachelors degree has no connection with being a good IT professional or a Linux Administrator, its just the stupid HR wants it cause they are dumb and clueless, the best IT professionals are self-taught and they are certainly not people who have degrees.
  • Options
    I hate when things like this happen, a bachelors degree is a worthless piece of paper and most people who get it is for the heck of having one, it does not teach you anything about life or Linux administration even though they ask for it, still apply for it.