Options

What pay to look for?

mistabrumley89mistabrumley89 Member Posts: 356 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just based off of my current certifications and job experience. I am slowly beginning my transition out of the military. I was a network administrator working at the distribution layer supporting around 7500 users for 2 years. Now I am currently working a help desk position (not sure how many users we support.. Couple thousand?). I will have 3 years working help desk/system admin by the time i get out. Just wondering if you all could throw out some ballpark figures to expect.
1. Current certifications
2. If I had CCNP and ITIL Foundation on top of current certs
thanks for your time
Oh and I'm not sure what area I'm looking to move to. Probably Washington state or florida
Goals: WGU BS: IT-Sec (DONE) | CCIE Written: In Progress
LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/charlesbrumley

Comments

• Options
    W StewartW Stewart Member Posts: 794 ■■■■□□□□□□
    1. That depends on what type of job you're looking for. I live in Florida and I'd guess most companies would pay somewhere around $16-$18/hr with your current certs and experience on the systems side of things unless you were to pick up a few other certs that seem to be more in demand around here. I would recommend some virtualization certs along with a server os certification (i.e., mcse or rhce) and you could probably land a job somewhere around 60k/yr if you played your cards right.

2. Not sure what kind of networking experience you have under your belt. Most of the job postings that I see around here that even mention the CCNP wants some years of experience with ospf and bgp along with some other miscellaneous requirements but I haven't looked to hard at networking jobs specifically.

Edit: Forgot about the ITIL cert. I've never really seen anybody ask for that cert so I'm not too sure if it would even matter unless you were applying for some type of leadership role.