First interview!

2»

Comments

• --chris----chris-- Member Posts: 1,518 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Thank you everyone, its been a long day. I've never worked a "suit and tie" job before. It takes a lot of little things to make that get up work lol. Thankfully we live near a outlet mall.
  • SlithySlithy Member Posts: 50 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Sounds great! - good luck starting.
    The first day was yesterday, it was overwhelming what was being thrown at me. The guy I am working under is a "guru" as everyone there likes to call him lol. Hes raw talent, and as I found out its my job to distill the crazy out and deliver his need/wants/ideas to the owner every day in a short meeting. While I am doing this, he is showing me how to do things. For example, yesterday we:

Replaced some DDR2 to test a computer
    Installed a new workstation in my office, connected it to the domain, created my user info and got me setup with outlook/lync
    Troubleshot a printer thats older than hell over the phone with there support team
    RMA'd 3 WD hard drives
    He showed me how to user IP scanner to ID IP's that are on the wrong subnet (part of a bigger project)
    He introduced me to Cention (used only for network troubleshooting, all support tickets are done through outlook via email)
    He got me familiar with the physical topology of the building, and also where everything is in the server room.

They are just starting to begin moving from one phone system to another, and I am communicating between the guru and the owner the wants and needs of them both. Im not crazy about being the middle mad like that, but I will do it as long as I am getting a ton of hands on like I am now.

They start a bit later, around 10-11 which most people would probably love but I am going to see if I can start around 9 so I can get home at a reasonable time to see the family.