CONFUSEDD help ;)

mn_mn_ Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just started studying for my ccent, I'm kind of new to networking. I bought the Wendell Odom book and for some reason I'm having a hard time reading the material and actually making sense of it...what are some good study methods/techniques for reading the cisco press book for newbies like me?? Or should I be starting somewhere else prior to reading the book?????? thanks a lot for your time guys :D

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    mn_ wrote: »
    I bought the Wendell Odom book and for some reason I'm having a hard time reading the material and actually making sense of it...
    If you feel in over your head with CCENT, it may be worth taking a step back and first tackling Network+. Many people newer to networking do better with the more gradual path of Network+ => CCENT => CCNA.
  • mn_mn_ Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'll take a look at that... Thanks!
  • MurphMurph Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Like the previous poster mentioned, the Network + is an option for you, Professor Messer, CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Linux, Microsoft Certification Training is a free resource. l never did the Net + myself. I found going through the CBT nuggets videos first and then the book gave me a better understanding of what was going on in the book.

good luck .
    2013 CCENT[x] 2014 CCNA[x] 2015 CCNP[ ]
  • mn_mn_ Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    [QUOTE= I found going through the CBT nuggets videos first and then the book gave me a better understanding of what was going on in the book.

good luck .[/QUOTE]

I think I might give this a try..thanks :)
  • Ltat42aLtat42a Member Posts: 587 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Net + is a good place to start. You can also try Todd Lammle's books - some good stuff.
    The Latest Books by Todd Lammle | Lammle.com
  • FloOzFloOz Member Posts: 1,614 ■■■■□□□□□□