Options

Amazon Web Services

antielvisantielvis Member Posts: 285 ■■■□□□□□□□
Decided to start watching the CBT Nuggets Amazon Web Services nuggets. It not only looks cool but I can see this having a profound effect on Information Technology, especially at the Small & Medium business level

Any experience using this? They have a certification set as well.

Comments

• Options
    N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Sounds pretty cool. Thanks for posting about this.
  • Options
    prampram Member Posts: 171
    Funny enough I just took this today and I was going to post about it. icon_lol.gif

I've been using AWS for about two years now. I've migrated 2 large websites to it and done a lot of design/implementation work. I think it's really cool and Amazon is lightyears ahead of the competition in their offerings.

Things like Auto Scaling and CloudFormation are the game changers IMO. They're enabling application designs that weren't possible before because of hardware constraints. With cloud-init and Puppet your servers can now become disposable cogs instead of things to actively maintain. It's a bit of a paradigm shift from the system administration perspective.

c8DeqSc.png

I didn't know they had a CBT Nugget! I mainly studied using the FAQ pages, and everything else was from experience. It's not a difficult test, but it does require you to know each product fairly well. That includes the more obscure things like IAM and their cloud applications (SQS, DynamoDB, ElastiCache)

Pretty much everything is on Amazon of course. Check out their documentation, FAQs, and white papers.

AWS Architecture Center
    Documentation
    Amazon Virtual Private Cloud FAQs
  • Options
    Cheers very cool! Gratz on the pass
  • Options