Options

Computer Science vs. Information Systems

tjb122982tjb122982 Member Posts: 255 ■■■□□□□□□□
I recently began working on my AAS in information technology at my local community college and I hope to complete it along with my A+ and Network+ by December of next year. I plan on working in the field for a 2-3 years before jumping back into a 4 year program but I wanted to get some advice and feedback on 4 year programs. My first and main question is (excluding online IT programs like the one with WGU), what is the main difference between Computer Science and Information Systems? Basically the question is one valued more than the other or are they more interchangeable?

Comments

• Options
    certerocertero Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
    At the University I went to Information systems majors were tied in with the business school. The computer science majors were in the engineering school. I got my business/CIS degree..I had friends that were computer science majors. Pretty much two different worlds IMO.. Technically/programming wise CIS program was geared more a high level where computer science really got down into the nitty gritty programming wise etc. CIS was focused on how technology could address business problems where computer science was geared more to well...the science. Although we did some programming in CIS it wasnt anything close to what they were doing in CS... In a nut shell... The CIS majors were trained more for the business side while the CS majors were trained more for the programming/pure technical side of things.. Thats how it was at my school anyway.
  • Options
    SteveFTSteveFT Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 149