Options

In a dilemma!

AddixtionAddixtion Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, I'm in a bit of a dilemma. I am a marketing professional with a BS in Marketing. I achieved my A+ last month and about to start on my Network+ studying. My spouse is studying to become a Nurse with only 8 months left, currently I am earning enough to put her through college, pay bills, etc. We have no debt at all, except for the car we purchased this weekend lol. However, if I were to jump into the IT field now or with a Network+ cert I am pretty confident I will receive a pay cut. So my plan is to wait until my wife is a nurse so we are able to absorb the pay cut and I can start gaining experience. In the meantime is there any certs I can get without having to start off at helpdesk or is that the best possible starting point for an IT career? I THINK I wanna do databases, been messing around with it but I wouldn't mind getting a CCNA to pay the bills until I can make a lateral move. Am I on the right/wrong track?

Comments

• Options
    matt333matt333 Member Posts: 276 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Sounds like a good plan to me. Like any job, you will have to work your way up if you don't have the experience. Certifications help but no employer hires someone based on certs and non entry level position get filled with people that have worked in IT position before. No way around it
    Studying: Automating Everything, network API's, Python etc.. 
    Certifications: CCNP, CCDP, JNCIP-DC, JNCIS-DevOps, JNCIS-ENT, JNCIS-SP
  • Options
    blargoeblargoe Member Posts: 4,174 ■■■■■■■■■□
    This doesn't exactly answer your question, but with your background in marketing and your interest in database technology, maybe you could move toward Business Intelligence (BI)?