Options

To add or not to add my GPA on my resume..help

gchild00gchild00 Member Posts: 17 ■■■□□□□□□□
Ok so I have been helping people with their IT needs (pro bono) for about 7 years and I really love to do that. However, my education has always been business related until I decided to make the switch to finally focus on getting into a professional role in IT (I got tired of the paper chase and decided to focus on something I actually enjoy). I sent my resume over to a friend who serves as a desktop manager and says that he has hired and let go of a lot of people during his experience. I had him look over my resume and he mentioned that my lack of professional IT experience is going to hurt me and that I should play up to my education some more. I agreed with him. So here are my GPA for my programs and was wondering if that may make a difference in me at least getting a second look from recruiters:

MBA 3.7
Bachelors Information technology/ information security 3.9 (two more classes to go)
Bachelors in Finance 2.7 (this is what concerns me and was wondering if I should leave it off..first time away from home I was immature and it was party time icon_cheers.gif)
Associates in Business administration 3.7

So should I include my GPA's at all? Include all of them except the 2.7? Or just leave off the GPA?

I'm typically looking for something entry level but hope that they can see my potential to grow in their organization.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Comments

• Options
    iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I say dont list any of them and no one is probably going ask. It is not going to set you apart or even distinguish you from other candidates. Like your friend said what is going to set you apart is your lack of experience. I believe what he meant when he said play up your education was list the specific IT classes you have taken.