Options

How much of ICND1 is practice/labbing and how much is memorization?

phdillardphdillard Member Posts: 86 ■■□□□□□□□□
CompTIA exams have a lot of "What does XYZ stand for?" Is there a lot that on Cisco exams, or is it mostly simulated labs?

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I am curious about this also. It seems like the simulations are a little more practical knowledge. I hope to take my first exam in January.

I am just getting started but my plan is to do a lot of labs during all of my review studies.

Jon
  • Options
    DissonantDataDissonantData Member Posts: 158
    I want to know this. It seems everyone is saying that I need to familiarize myself with the commands, but I'm not sure how much I need to know. I always thought of these exams as being more memorization based with a bit of application. Understanding the comands is more important when you actually get a job, I think.
  • Options
    smcclenaghansmcclenaghan Member Posts: 139
    You know to know which 'show' command to use to diagnose this or that.

You may get some questions asking which command will display which info. Memorization/lab familiarity will help there, but I wouldn't expect more than a question or two.

I think labbing is critical for ICND2 and to help cement some concepts for ICND1, but less critical for ICND1.

'show' commands are pretty important though. You should know those. Be able to determine which ports a frame will be forwarded based on MAC/port info as given by various show commands.
  • Options
    SerpenteSerpente Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Go to the Cisco website and do the exam tutorial. It will give you an idea of the style of the exam, but not the content.

There are different types of questions:

You have multiple choice which ask you to select one answer or more than one (the question will always specify how many boxes to tick).