Options

Need some advise on my current position in my company

neo468neo468 Member Posts: 123
Hello everyone,

These forums are such a great resource with a lot of knowledgeable people and I have learned a great deal. I have a big decision to make on my next step and am looking for your input on what direction i should lean.

I have been working for the current company I am with for six years in the level 2 position as a senior tech. I have worked my way up to the top of the level 2 position with the firm and with that progression has given me the opportunity to transition into the networking group. However during the transition process we hit a major road block with a new company policy that requires any it outside of level 2 to relocate to one of two central locations, since the network engineer position is considered work from anywhere the policy applies to this and would force me to relocate from LA to SD. we all have our thoughts on this policy and the way I see it is a block to anyone who wants to advance in IT within the company is stuck unless they would relocate which for many is not feasible. I question policies like this being implemented and whether it is worth even considering relocating. I really want to get into the network engineering area to advance my skills but am not sure it is a smart move to adhere to this policy and leave the current life I gave behind for it, I.e. family girlfriend etc.

So it comes down to option 1 taking the network engineer job and relocating or leaving the company because they provide no avenue for advancement without relocation. My hesitation with leaving is having to start over with a new company building my reputation to the point where I would be able to advance into their network group, which I see as a setback. I appreciate any insight you all can offer and sorry for the length of the post I wanted to clarify the position I am in.
1's and 0's

Comments

• Options