Options

salary for someone that will just get there bachelors

neo9006neo9006 Member Posts: 195
Alright, I will ask this question, based on the area, what can someone make with a bachelors degree just starting off in it, mine is in web and media design and I have pretty well figured I will be in IT in some capacity I would hope. Thanks for you advice.
BAAS - Web and Media Design
Working on A+

Comments

• Options
    AwesomeGarrettAwesomeGarrett Member Posts: 257
    What skills do you have? Any internships or experience in anything related to IT?
  • Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Do you want the truth or should we continue the lie you have been fed?

IT is a field where degree doesn't mean much until later on in your career should you want to go to the business side (IT Director, CIO) and even then it's not always required.

Getting your foot in the door to start building a skill set is key. Think of it this way, if I am a hiring manager and I have two candidates in front of me such as the following to work on my Enterprise

Candidate A: No degree, 2-3yrs experience, CCNP R&S, Security

Candidate B: Bachelors Degree, 1yrs experience, no certification

Now, on the flip side looking for someone to direct and or manage an Enterprise with employees under him/her

Candidate A: No degree, 10yrs experience, CCIE or CCNP bla bla Certification

Candidate B: Bachelors Degree, 10yrs experience, CCIE or CCNP bla bla, etc.

This is where the degree will carry more weight IMO

Experience first, certification second, degree third

Experience + Certification + Degree = win (more options IMO)

If you are wondering, yes I have a degree as well
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Options