Options

Postgraudate Sutdy Dilemma

Hey Guys,

Just wanted to get some of you Senior guys opinion on my current Dilemma.

Last year I graduated from University (obtaining a Bachelors degree in Computer Science) and now am looking at the chance of going back and study at postgraduate level; Hoping to obtain a Masters in Digital Forensics (picking the appropriate papers to specialize in the area of network security/forensics.)

A little about myself - Since graduating from my degree; I found it really hard to progress straight into a Networks Engineer role without any real past experience. I therefore had to go the hard way and got a role as a Service Desk team member in a rather big IT company.

I then worked for around 3 months as an SDA and got approached to assist with the transition of a client from a large rival IT company to ours; I then worked on the Transition for a number of months which was great as it exposed me to my first real big IT project, (However this was only really at Service Desk level.)

After the Transition; I worked as a Senior SDA member on the new transitioned account assisting and training other team members, really acting as more as a System Administrator than an SDA member.

Within a Few months of this role I approached and networked within the company and managed to get myself a promotion to Junior Network Engineer; Which is now my current role and has been for the past couple of Months. I've always wanted to work as a Network Engineer and it is currently providing me with great on the job experience.

I have managed to achieve CCENT since graduating last year and currently expect to obtain my CCNA this Month. (I had previously studied all the CCNA material under my Bachelors degree therefore already have a sound knowledge within Cisco.)