Options

Job search Tips and Tricks

NicWhiteNicWhite Member Posts: 134
Hi all,

I thought it would be a good idea to share with others stories about how you were able to acquire different positions over the years. Did you have to get increased certs or/and education? Did you just send out resumes for the want ads/internet? Were you referred by someone else? Did you happen to be in the right place at the right time? Were you hired by a family member or friend? Did you get a referral by someone on a forum such as techexams.net?

I think sharing some of these stories can be an encouragement to some of the people just starting out.

Let me start with my story. I do not work in IT. I am a nurse and over the years, I have held many jobs. In all cases except one they were all due to a referral by people I had met over the years. I am a very social person and make friends very easily so I think that worked in my favor. I am not afraid to ask for help or let people know what I would like to do to advance my career. You never know who can help you. I say be willing to put yourself out there.

I am also a very passionate person, so when I am excited about learning something or wanting to learn something, I volunteer to do it at work or at church or wherever and I share that excitement with others.

The only job that I have been able to secure by just cold applying is the job I currently have with working in the federal government. Like I said with everything else I knew someone that referred me.

I hope others will share some stories as well. I will continue to add to this thread.
WGU - BS Software Development
Start Date: 2/1/2016
Transferred 40 / Complete 23 / Remaining 60

Comments

• Options
    NicWhiteNicWhite Member Posts: 134
    Here are some additional tips for people trying to get fedreal employment: