Is there a way to list that I am studying for a cert on my resume for applications?

hypertekhypertek Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
While I am studying for my A+, i see a few job listings for IT tech with A+ listed on them. Can I somehow list that on my resume while currently studying for it and apply?

Or is it best to just try to complete it first than apply for jobs? Hopefully that makes sense.

Thanks!

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Good luck on your studies.

For listing on a resume - you could always state something like - A+ Candidate (expected December 2013)
    As for the merits of listing anticipated certifications, there are probably some pros/cons. I suspect however that the pros outweigh the cons.
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    if you do it, limit it to just one even if you are working on multiple.
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • hypertekhypertek Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the replies, sounds pretty good. Currently just working on A+. I was planing to look into more certs after that.
  • GoodBishopGoodBishop Member Posts: 359 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You might want to mention it in your cover letter as opposed to your resume.
  • phonicphonic Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I agree that the cover letter would be a more appropriate place for it than the resume. The latter should be a record of what you have done, not what you plan on doing. A cover letter on the other hand is less formal and is a good way to introduce yourself and your goals - including upcoming certifications.