Options

Is CCNA enough to get a VISA for the US or Canada?

dv3lla9dv3lla9 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi people

Basically I have 9 years experience in fixing computers, fully hands on - dismantling the machines, putting back together, virus removals...you name it - pretty basic stuff i know. Now (I'm 25) - I've just started branching out into networking and I'm currently doing my A+ and Network+ which will finish in January. In February I am looking to get my CCNA started (that finishes in August 2014).

What I need to know is - Is A+/Network+ with a CCNA certification enough for me to immigrate to the United States? I really really want to live in the states one day. I'm currently living in London...and it just doesn't do it for me anymore. I'm bored and i need adventure. Or at very least a Canadian VISA?

I don't have any networking experience, but have a ton of technician experience.

Also I'm considering taking up a second language - Portuguese to be precised. My mum is Portuguese but she only ever spoke to me in English - (I'm aware that might get me a few more points on the VISA system)

Any advice or help would greatly be appreciated! - Have any of you made the move to the US or Canada? and from what country?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    Are you trying to be a guest worker, or do you want a path to citizenship?

You might want to figure that out first, and then you will find more appropriate forums to provide you with information.

You should go to this website, in order to better research your situation:

USCIS Home Page
    Currently Working: CCIE R&S
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/lewislampkin (Please connect: Just say you're from TechExams.Net!)
  • Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    Good luck but I highly doubt any company could justify hiring an Englishmen because they couldn't find a CCNA in the US. This is how the work visa process works.