Options

What would you do?

Mquinn33Mquinn33 Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
I was sitting in Starbucks yesterday studying for the first exam towards my MCSA when a woman asks me about what I'm studying. I tell her & we start talking about how she used to work in IT & I mentioned that I'm new to the area & looking for a job. So she says that she is working with someone starting up a small business & that maybe I could learn on the job getting their network set up. They currently have 8 macs & no network.

I earned my CCNA several years ago & worked as an implementation technician working remotely with onsite techs getting new network equipment set up & troubleshooting when things didn't work. I've done some help desk work as well. So my question is, if I do this am I going to be in way over my head??

I should also add that I have almost no mac experience.

Comments

• Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    nah, just get a simple router from cisco, did you ever learn mac's while building networks in CCNA? NO.

i think the only thing you'll need to learn is how to join them to a domain, which is simple task all you need to do is google
  • Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    If it were me, I'd probably jump at it. She said you could learn on the job.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    Next question - how much $ do I ask for? I'm in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.
  • Options
    paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If you are not familiar with setting up Macs perhaps a fair way to do this is to offer a fixed price. In that way, it would not matter how much time you need to spend to learn the technical nuances and it is more of an incentive for the company to use your services.
  • Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Mquinn33 wrote: »
    Next question - how much $ do I ask for? I'm in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.