Options

Voice VLAN and Data VLAN on the same port?

olaHaloolaHalo Member Posts: 748 ■■■■□□□□□□
Im studying for CCENT and I was under the impression that you could only configure a port as an access port to a single VLAN or be a trunk port.
So Im poking around production switches at work and I noticed this
interface GigabitEthernet0/1
 switchport access vlan 10
 switchport mode access
 switchport voice vlan 2

Also under show vlan many of the ports are set to both vlan 10 and vlan 2.

Are voice vlans somehow different? Do these ports act as trunks for both vlans and just follow some other protocol than 802.1q?

Im guessing this is just out of the scope of the CCENT which is why I havent heard of it.

Comments

• Options
    RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    You are right, a port can only be assigned one "access" vlan. The "voice" vlan is different and so this is why you see the configuration

No they are not trunks. Not sure if it's out of scope but you need to know it regardless. You will find yourself adding a port to a particular data vlan or voice vlan so you will need to know how to perform that action
    Modularity and Design Simplicity:

Think of the 2:00 a.m. test—if you were awakened in the
    middle of the night because of a network problem and had to figure out the
    traffic flows in your network while you were half asleep, could you do it?
  • Options
    AwesomeGarrettAwesomeGarrett Member Posts: 257
    Well, its kind of a trunk. When applying the command switchport voice vlan (vlan-id) it creates a "speacial" type of trunk according to Cisco. It does not explicitly make it a trunk (and for CCENT purposes it is not a trunk) but that is how it essentially works.

If have also seen the following:

switchport mode trunk
    switchport trunk native vlan 100
    switchport trunk allowed vlan 150