Options

A+, N+/CCNA with Comp Sci degree, what jobs can I do now? Volunteering considered

Phoenix9Phoenix9 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello guys,

I live in the UK and as stated, I'm taking A+, N+ (may also take the MCSE) which I am seeking to complete these exams within 3 months. Moreover, I'm aiming to progress onto a CCNA and complete this certification within the 8 months.

I'm also in my first year of my Computer Science degree.

I've been informed volunteering is the way to go, to add that much needed experience backed up by a certification alongside studying for a degree.

My plan is to volunteer at hospitals, council, school's, none profit organisations. Where else can I volunteer and for what roles?

On completion of these certs, what paid (with volunteer experience) can I go into?

I have work experience only in retail to date, furthermore, I'm seeking to run a charity, online business and have captained my local sports team, which is basically what's on my CV.

Comments appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Try to get some internships too.

Volunteering can be cool but you might end up doing small things such as fixing computers and troubleshooting them. Or some internet connectivity stuffs. If you volunteer at some of the right places, you might be able to meet some important people.

You'll get many more opportunities with the CCNA.
    Booya!!
    WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
    *****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****
  • Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    You can start running your charity today:IT support for nonprofits.