Options

New to virtualization

kc73837kc73837 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey all,

I'm new to virtualization so I have just been googling around to see how i can get my feet wet. My friend suggested that I get a VTSP first to familiarize myself with the terms, which I did. And now I want to start learning VCP.

Could somebody suggest how i should approach this? I know most people here started out with quite a bit of IT experiences, and that's not me. I like to play around with computers, build them, but i'm NO where close to people here. So i need some suggestion, any, would be helpful.

Are there any books that I should get?

I know there's a lot of free training courses on VMware website, any suggestion which one i should start with? I'm willing to spend money to build a lab and study this. Once i have enough experience, i will then take the course so I can actually understand what the course is about.

So if you have some time, please kindly help!

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    EssendonEssendon Member Posts: 4,546 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to TE! Stick around and you may learn a thing or two (or a lot!)

Here are some threads people have created about the same topic:

http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/92301-vmware-hands-labs.html << Great thread about resources!
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/91222-vmware-vcp-dv-resources.html << The sticky at the top of this sub-forum
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/90823-vmware-lab.html << Your home lab thread
    http://www.techexams.net/forums/virtualization/93149-vmware-nested-lab-hardware-specs.html << Another one for a home lab

Books - The best book out there is the Mastering VMware vSphere 5 by Scott Lowe, by far the best IT book I've ever read. You really dont need anything else. If you understand what's in there AND you lab it up, the exam's not difficult.