Options

Career advice, thoughts and questions

casteelcasteel Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, my name is Balint and this is my first post. I lurked here for some time now and seeing how helpful a bunch you are I decided to post some of my questions, thoughts and plans on how to start my IT career.

I'm from Hungary and I graduated from the Budapest University of Technology about a year ago. My degree is a Master's degree in Technical Informatics with a 'Security of Communication Systems' specialization. Since graduating I got my CCNA and have been educating myself on subjects that my university courses only mentioned or merely touched upon. I built a lab with whatever equipment I could gather from around my father's place, a couple of Cisco routers, ZyXEL firewalls and a ton of LinkSys WRT54GLs. It's not much but GNS3 helps out :). The reason I have a lot of those LinkSys routers is because at uni I did a lot of projects with wireless mesh networks and used OpenWRT on the test networks. I currently work at my father's small company, he installs physical security systems: burglar alarms, fire alarms, but mostly CCTV systems. Most of those devices have IP modules or some kind of connectivity and it's my job to set all that up. It's usually a pretty basic task, configuring the port forwarding for remote management, setting up dynamic DNS, maybe setting up ACLs and firewalls. I was surprised how many local businesses don't have a network technician sort of guy and just let me futz around with their network. If they do have somebody, then I would consult with him about what we need and what they can do for us in that regard. It's not a full time job for me and it makes me wonder, is this something that I should even mention on a resume? To me they're very basic configurations and troubleshooting, but I don't really have any other significant experience working on 'real world' networking scenarios.