Options

Boson any good?

vlad06vlad06 Member Posts: 31 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey,

I'm just learning the bridging materials for the new CCNA Routing & Switching exam and I was wondering if the Boson network simulator kit for CCNA is worth the money?

Anybody used it and can give some advice?

Thank you,

Vlad

Comments

• Options
    draughtdraught Member Posts: 229 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My experience with Boson's labs were that they forced you to figure out lab questions more than the lab sim that comes the Cisco press books. Cisco press basically gave set instructions but did not require any problem solving. That said I don't think either one is better and the best solution would be to use both of them as you train. If not the Cisco press lab sims are more than enough in my opinion.
  • Options
    TurK-FXTurK-FX Member Posts: 174
    I had just the practice questions. They are pretty good. But i scored 90% on practice and failed the first exam. Then studied more and did 100% and practice, and passed the second time
    WGU classes: Transferred -> AGC1, CLC1, TBP1, CJC1, BVC1, C278, CRV1, IWC1, IWT1, C246, C247, C132, C164, INC1, C277. Appealed -> WFV1 and C393.
    What is Left to take - > EUP1, EUC1, C220, C221, BNC1, GC1, C299, CTV1, DJV1, DHV1, CUV1, CJV1, TPV1, C394
    Currently Studying -> CCNA security (Designing Customized Security & Security)
  • Options
    TBickleTBickle Member Posts: 110
    I used Boson for my CCENT and CCNA, and thought the practice questions were good. The simulator wasn't too bad either, but I would strongly encourage you to instead use that money for 2 routers and a switch. I'm sure you can buy a CCNA kit for 300 -400 dollars and if that's too much, just buy 2 routers and a 2950 switch.
  • Options
    Thanks guys, what could I do with two routers and a switch? My learning experince so far has entirely been comprised of reading materials and Packet Tracer simulation.