Options

Next step after Help Desk?

markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
I'm going to have my IT Associate's degree in two months and then I'm heading to WGU to get my BA in IT Security.

I've been a volunteer PC Technician at Protonic.com for nearly a year. I have trackable tickets as well. Also, a couple months ago I got a Tech Support job for a popular banking website. I've been around computers all my life but just managed to get experience on paper recently with a career change into the IT field.

I'm figuring after my degree (and a little more experience under my belt) I'll start applying shortly after for a better job. I can't afford any certs at the moment, but at WGU, I'll be able to charge them to my tuition and get a few. In your experience, what type of jobs can I get after that? I am not sure if I should wait to get a Security+ or CCSP before I start applying or if I should just get a job at a local computer shop. I only make $10 an hour now, but I'm honestly hoping I can get a $15 an hour job. Is that too unreasonable?

Comments

• Options
    TechGuy215TechGuy215 Member Posts: 404 ■■■■□□□□□□
    What are the responsibilities at your current job? From what you've explained it sounds like you're probably not ready for the next step after helpdesk, but instead you're ready to pursue a helpdesk position itself. Considering it sounds like you don't have much experience in an enterprise IT infrastructure, I would recommend looking for an entry-level or tier 1 help-desk position. 15 dollars is definitely not unreasonable. The tier 1 helpdesk at my company makes a salary of about $42,000.00 ($20 per hour).

Don't be too worried about the certs. Pursue your degree and continue to gain experience and you can tackle the certs down the line.

It sounds like you're on your way though, and I wish you luck on you're journey!
    * Currently pursuing: PhD: Information Security and Information Assurance