Options

Leaving a job for a career advice needed

jayrayjayray Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been lurking around these forums for a few days and finally decided to register so I could ask a question as I've seen some great advice being given here and hope I could get some direction. Some background about me, I currently I work as a helpdesk support for a small IT group that services dental offices in the tri-state area. My work is done 100% remotely, I'm dedicated support from the business office, but before this for four years I did field support for a splattering of clubs and small businesses as part of another small IT group.

I have an associates in Computer Networking and Systems Administration from a small tech school that I graduated from in '07, and no valid certifications currently. In my two jobs I've gotten basic experience at mapping and deploying physical copper cabling networks, managing Windows Based Servers (all full, no core deployments), more recently at managing a few Apple networks, and basic front end user/Microsoft Office Suite support, along with a plethora of dental office specific things that are worthless outside that industry. Network Equipment used for these SMBs is usually home office level stuff from Linksys, Netgear, etc. So I haven't any practical on the job experience with real Cisco or Juniper or any other more advanced equipment.