Options

Time to update skills--get a degree

zzyzxgalzzyzxgal Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Probably embedded in one of the threads is a situation similar to mine. But, I'm cutting right to the chase by asking my own question.

I'm a 48-year-old woman who's been working as a programmer since I was 18... wow... 30 years! Back then I was able to get a job by just knowing how to program and then getting a quick tech degree from a now defunct trade school. I've only worked for 2 companies in all that time and I've never been unemployed a day.

I should've been working to get a BSCS degree. But for most of this time I've lived far away from a university along with raising 4 daughters (two with autism, yikes!). I've worked part-time for the past 20 years.

Now, I'd like to get a full-time job. I've been programming in BASIC for 30 years on UNIX/LINUX systems used for medical/dental billing and records. Clearly I'm not marketable as a programmer today. So, I've been looking at my online education options and stumbled on WGU. To be honest...money's so tight, it's the only one I can even consider.

I thought I should do the BSIT-SE program to stay true to my programming roots. But, I've read so much on here about it being a nearly useless degree. Since I have so much programming experience, is there any way that this actually is the right degree for me? It just seems like a broader base and not so limiting as the others.

Job listings in my area ask for BSCS or a combination of applicable experience with a related BS degree for most programming spots. And various certifications are often listed.

What are your thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Dear zzyzxgal,