CCNP vs. CCNA Security as my next step

Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
Hi everyone. I just started studying for my CCNA in September and hope to complete the certification in July of 2014. This is part of a two year plan to switch careers into networking.

I was hoping to get some feedback from current CCNA and CCNP holders about which would be better next step for someone new to networking. I have read several posts debating the value of a CCNP without having real experience. Would the same hold true for the CCNA Security?

My gut feeling is that the CCNA security might be more relevant to someone looking for an entry level position and I might be better off pursuing the CCNP after that. I know there is no definitive answer on this so I'm just looking for some feedback from anyone that might be a step ahead of me and has a little more real world knowledge to share.

Jon

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    The main problem with having the CCNP with no experience is you end up being over qualified (certification wise) for low level gigs yet not enough experience for mid level gigs. It's not completely useless to go for the CCNP without experience, knowledge gained is always a good thing, just keep your expectations in check. Your time might also be better spent on other certifications that will help you break into that first role like the CCNA Sec you mentioned.

Are you moving from a non IT role into the networking field or another sector of IT? What is your current career?
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I am currently working in the printing industry that projected to continue declining for the foreseeable future. Our department is considered the default IT people simply because we work on computers. The company does not employ an actual IT staff or company.