Options

TSHOOT Tomorrow, then...

tjh87tjh87 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everybody!

This is my first post and first thread on here. I have recently gotten back onto the certification track, and as a result, I have been reading various forums to see how others are handling the rigors of Cisco certifications. I chose to register with this site because I like that there are contributors who have been in the game for 10+ years with their CCIE, and at the same time, there are people who are just starting out. I fall in the middle of that spectrum.

Anyway, I am posting this thread in hopes of sharing my experiences as well as hearing some other professionals' opinions on my "road map." I have been doing networking for 7 years now and have a wide range of experience with different technologies. My focus has been on Cisco, but I have worked with other vendors and also the systems side of things. I became a CCNA in 2010 after being in the industry for 4 years with significant networking experience. I recently moved from NC to TX on a whim (no job lined up prior). The Network Engineer job I held in NC had no room for growth. They didn't care if I got dual CCIEs or let my CCNA expire (the job and my experience before this could be a 5 paragraph essay in itself). I wasn't going to get a raise and there wasn't a senior position for me to move up to. This environment didn't work well in motivating me to get my CCNP, which has been a personal goal of mine for some time. Regardless, I started studying for my CCNP SWITCH in March of this year and passed at the end of that month. My role at this job dealt directly with CCNP level knowledge, so I honestly did not require much "outside" studying. After SWITCH, I immediately began studying for the ROUTE. My studies didn't last long and after maybe 2 weeks, I stopped studying completely. In August, I moved from NC to TX with no job lined up. In September, I got hired on as a Sr. Systems Engineer for a medium to large-sized company