Options

Hired as a Help Desk Engineer

ZiccoZicco Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings all,

I got an offer on Friday for a Help Desk engineer position and I gladly accepted it.

I do have few questions regarding career path.

Now although my degree is not in computer science field, I did take Cisco & MS courses in the past. With all honesty, I was aiming to kick in the IT project management section instead of the hands on technical.

Starting as a help desk, where can my career be in 3-5 years? Assuming that I'm not looking to achieve any technical certification (Cisco, MS, Comptia... etc).

I know this question should be answered by me, which is in project management.

However, I'm trying to gather general information on how I could kick in the IT project management field starting as a help desk engineer.

Thanks,

Comments

• Options
    phonicphonic Member Posts: 82 ■■□□□□□□□□
    To answer your first question - where can your career be in 3-5 years - the answer is simple. Not in help desk.

While some people may like that job, most don't and use it as a stepping stone. In general, people usually get out of it as quickly as possible (1-2 years). However, most of those people move on to other technical roles (engineer, admin, etc.). If you're still there in 3-5 years, you are doing something wrong. :)

You didn't really give enough information about your prior job history or current company to give very specific advice, so I'll speak in generalities.

If your goal is to get into IT project management, you should certainly focus on relevant certs. What those are, I'm not sure. Maybe ITIL? However, unless your new company has need for someone with those skills, you might have to do it on your own time. Many companies prefer help desk staff to focus on training relevant for that position or to move up in that environment.