Options

CISSP is Resume Gold

JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
I just wanted to provide some motivation to others thinking about or currently pursuing their CISSP, and tell how passing it has helped me come closer to achieving my goals. Others can feel free to chime in with their success stories as well.

I have almost seven years of total InfoSec experience, including the last 5+ years in my current role (primarily IAM). I've been trying the past couple of years internally or externally to get another security position, specifically a more broader security role so I can expand my skill set. With the amount of experience I already have and the roles that I'm targeting, there are probably tons of people applying and when I apply online I don't think my resume even got passed the filters and made it to HR. And the hits I received from posting on LinkedIn, Indeed and Dice were all pure IAM positions.

When applying internally I was continually passed up on broader security positions because I didn't have the broader technical skillset that external applicants have. This is one reason I am leaving my employer (global financial firm), as they couldn't care less to retain talent and post all jobs internally and externally at the same time, giving not a thought to the current employees. They just go with whoever has more on their resume.

From what I've read here and elsewhere, and in my own targeted job searches on many websites, CISSP was almost always in the preferred, and sometimes even the required fields, for a lot of the jobs I wanted to apply for. For the past couple of years all I wanted is to get my resume actually looked at by a human, and have a chance for it to go in front of the hiring manager. I told my wife the CISSP is like the gatekeeper to better security positions.