Options

Looking for career advice from established IT professionals

moneygkmoneygk Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm looking for some advice of what direction to go in IT. I've done searches and read a lot on this topic but couldn't find one that was similar to my situation. If anyone can speak from experience and help me out, I would greatly appreciate it. I am the first one in my family to graduate with a degree so I can't rely heavily on family members for advice. Here's my story...

I graduated from a community college with my AAS in network administration in 2012. I've recently passed the CCNA:RS exam and LOVE networking. It's definitely my passion in the IT industry. I currently work for a mid-sized company and do everything from desktop support to mild network administration tasks. I make decent money and am by no means not happy with the work I do. Here's the problem...

My boss came to me the other day and let me know there is a DBA position that will be available within our company next year. Our IT department is only the manager, a systems admin and myself so there's definitely room for advancement. While I like the company I work for and the people I work with, I'm afraid the database admin job would be pretty boring. Not that DBA work is that boring... I'm just a networking nut. My second issue that I really want an experienced networking guy to advise on is salary. I understand that salary isn't top priority if you do something you love to do but let's be honest... The goal is to make the most money doing the thing you love most. If I was to take this DBA position, that might be wasting time I could be spending certifying higher with Cisco.

I hope someone out there can elaborate on my questions with life experience. I'm uncertain on where to go from here and appreciate any of the advice I can get.

Thanks in advance for the answers!!!

Comments

• Options
    World1337World1337 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□