10+ year Linux systems admin/engineer, ask me anything!

The TechnomancerThe Technomancer Member Posts: 96 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey all, I'm Jeff! Found this site while searching for info on WGU, stayed after reading/answering a ton of threads!

I've been doing this stuff for over a decade now, and got my start in the field as a dial-up ISP support technician making 10 bucks an hour. I'm now a DevOps engineer on a cluster of Linux systems, I've added Apple, Citigroup, and Rackspace to the resume, passed the old RHEL 5 RHCT/E combined exam on the first try (and got my employer to pay for the bootcamp AND the exam), and I've navigated the job search and interview game to the point where the offer I accepted for my current gig was for $150k/yr, a percent or so of the company in pre-IPO shares, a $4,500 signing bonus, and a good benefits package...and if I paid attention to the job description/requirements, I'd have thought I was "underqualified" for it!

Why am I doing this?
  • I really enjoy mentoring other people in the field. Knowledge gained is knowledge that should be shared, in my opinion. Plus, one quirk of this field is that you never know who you'll end up working with, so it's in my best interest to make sure that the people I may be working with someday are rockstars!
  • I have a huge ego, and there's no better ego stroke than being asked for advice or to solve a hard problem.
  • I genuinely love everything about this field. It's not just my career, it's my passion. Plus, I get paid to solve puzzles and riddles for a living. How cool is that?!
  • We engineers regularly undervalue our skills, and since the vast majority of us like helping people and making things easier on them, we can screw ourselves when it comes to salary negotiation because we don't want to cause an imposition upon a potential employer.