Sticky Situation

CertinatorCertinator Member Posts: 43 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

Im stuck in a tough spot and need your help! I got my degree back in 2007 in Computer electronics engineering but I have yet to land an IT job. Im currently working as a printed circuit board technician but I prefer to be in the IT field fixing computers or network issues. I tried to land a IT position at my current job but they only have to Desktop Support techs that handle the whole building and I don't see them going anywhere anytime soon. I obtained my A+ and Security+ over the last couple of years to keep my skills relevant and boost my chances of landing a job in my career field and Im working on my Net+ now. Do you guys have any advice on how to get my foot in the door?

Comments

• bgold87bgold87 Member Posts: 112
    I started in tech support for and ISP and then springboarded to helpdesk then on to desktop support and so on. I would start looking for helpdesk jobs in your area. Start there and then work your way up. My only advice is don't get comfortable until you get where you want to be. Once you land the helpdesk soak as much up as you can, and when you feel like you've peaked, start looking for the next level gigs.
  • beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Suspect you may be in a smaller market rather than a major market/big city. Feel free to correct me if I am wrong but it will make a huge difference to know what your local market may or may not be like. Below is some fairly generic advice.