Question Regarding Title/Position on a Resume

tjh87tjh87 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
So my current position/official title is Systems Engineer. Before this job, I was a Network Engineer for 3 years. Before that, I was a Network Admin for 4 years. My duties in this job are all in line with a Network Engineer with some VM and server administration mixed in. Before accepting this job, I asked if the title could be changed from Systems Engineer to Network Engineer as it was more fitting for the actual position. I was told that the opening was for a Systems Engineer, but they needed someone to do networking. I accepted the position (it was either that or turn it down based on a title). Anyway, the first week on the job I was talking with a co-worker about this situation. He gave me the real explanation. Basically, the previous Network Engineer sucked at life and they had to fire him. Well, I guess to avoid actually calling it a firing, HR decided to get rid of the position all together. So after that, the whole deal with the title made a little more sense.

In the end, the title doesn’t really matter to me. In fact, my direct supervisor still refers to me as the Network Engineer. So my question is: how should I represent this on my resume? I have no intention of leaving this position anytime soon, but I like to always have an updated resume “in case.” I can put Network Engineer as the title, but my worry is that prospective employers will contact the company to verify employment and see that my title was actually Systems Engineer. If I put Systems Engineer, I’m sure the “oh-so-smart” HR/recruiter filters will have me getting emails and calls for true System Engineer positions. I’m sure I will also spend every interview/phone call explaining that while my title was a Systems Engineer, I was actually a Network Engineer. Thoughts?
2013 Goals: /COLOR][COLOR=#ff0000]x[/COLOR][COLOR=#0000cd CCNP, [ ] CCDA, [ ] VCA-DCV
2014 Goals: [ ] CCDP, [ ] CCNA Security