Options

Advice for Candidate With Limited Experience

adam220891adam220891 Member Posts: 164 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all. I'm going to graduate in five weeks with an AAS in Computer Systems Technology. It's a pretty similar major to IT. I've taken Windows Deployment, Windows Server, Advanced Networking (Cisco R/S), Security, etc. These classes have been pretty hands on, but I don't have work experience. I've done stuff with AD, GPOs, etc, but because it was in a small controlled environment, my knoweldge isn't overly deep. I have the A+ and N+, and am getting the MTA: Network Foundations in a few days. I'm also studying for the CCENT, since my current Advanced Networking class uses the ICND1 Official Cert Guide.

So basically, I feel like I have a good concept of networking and I've dabbled with these technologies, but I lack experience. Here's the kicker though, I've gotten calls for interviews.

I have an interview next week for a Jr. Network Administrator position, and I'm nervous about it because if I got hired I would feel like I'm going to need someone to hold my hand when I first start. I'm going to need to pick up a Server book, and refresh my knowledge and perhaps do some labbing on my own. But even then, I won't be confident in my ability. I don't want to display a lack of confidence in the interview, however, since that would hurt my chances of landing the job.

Say I get hired, do they expect me to know everything and be off and running on my own? My resume is pretty clear, there's not really any way to misinterpret anything, so they clearly know I have never had a job in the field. I had another interview as well for a tech support position, but couldn't work with the hours due to school, so it didn't go through. I'm optimistic about the responses, but doubtful because I know reading the stuff in a book doesn't translate to doing the stuff with your own hands.

What are the expectations? Any advice?

Comments

• Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938