Options

Considering CEH

BGravesBGraves Member Posts: 339
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone could provide their opinion/advice on the following:

I'm considering a MS in Info Sec & Assurance from WGU, from that, I see the CEH is a course that is required for that program. I thought if I was to go this route, it would be a good idea to start getting familiar with CEH material and see if I could potentially take and pass it even before I start the program. (I'm getting rather bored of reading the CWTS guide and I don't really need to take it anyway).

My background is primarily Windows/Wireless/VoIP/Network Admin with some security related experience through my various work in the military/contractor. I would say my Linux skills are beginner, so I know I need some work there and have been playing around with Kali for a while and downloaded Ubuntu to work in as well. This aspect of security really interests me and I've been trying to move more towards a security administrator or related position anyway, primarily why I'm considering the MS ISA from WGU.

So I've been over the past few weeks starting to build my library and bookmarks for the exam and related material. I already have:
CEH v7 study guide, Kimberly graves - briefly skimmed over, looks like a lot of vague remarks about some outdated tools.
Hacking the Art of Exploitation 2nd edition - Ordered but not received yet, looks good
The Basics of Hacking and Penetration Testing Second Edition
Metasploit The Pen testers guide
Linux+ book
Linux administration, 5th

As well as a number of other bookmarks and videos on related material.

I grabbed the course outline for the CEHv8 and broke it down in to sections that I can fill in like an outline when I go through and learn something, that way I can be sure I'm covering the exam objectives/content.