Options

Bash Scripting

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey guys I am interested in learning how to learn Bash scripting the problem is I am not a programmer and havent got a clue about programming concepts.
So how does a noob get into this? currently I can write real basic scripts that declare variables and echo words to the prompt and other noob stuff such as
chaining commands together.

Am I missing something here? please don't say a brain :0 documentation aimed at a apparent noob goes over my head! it's like the person writing it doesn't understand
that ive never programmed in my life so they get you to start off with a classic hello world script then it's onto command operations, postions, loops and i'm like wtf!!!!!!

Is there a guide out there that actually gets you to create scripts gradually / Holds your hand?

I'm starting to get frustrated and disheartened I have a strong desire to learn this like a overwhelming urge but I can't seem to get off the ground icon_sad.gif

How did you tackle this?
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    practise, read examples and slowly build up the complexity of your scripts step by step.
    practise , practise, practise

start here
    BASH Programming - Introduction HOW-TO: Very simple Scripts

hows your linux/unix knowlegde ?

If not so good learn all the usual linux/unix commands as you will need them with bash
    Commonly used Unix commands
    Using UNIX commands

other tutorials
    Bash scripting Tutorial
    Bash Guide for Beginners
    Goals CCNA by dec 2013, CCNP by end of 2014
  • Options
    prampram Member Posts: 171
    I'd learn another procedural language like Python or Perl first. Theres simply more learning material for those, and everything you learn you will be able to apply to bash scripting.
  • Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210