Options

Becoming a Systems Administrator next summer

loss4wordsloss4words Member Posts: 165 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello guys,

I'm hoping I could get some advice if what I want to achieve is possible. I've been doing helpdesk/desktop support for about 6 years and I feel like I need to move on to bigger and better things and I really wanted to start looking into Systems Administrator position and start applying in the summer. I have some limited real life experience with Active Directory and Group Policy and have passed 70-290 few years ago. This year at my current position I'm in charge of setting up MS Configuration Manager which should be a fun experience. What would you guys say are some of the things that you recommend I concentrate on?

Thanks a lot and please feel free to ask any questions :)

Thank you!

Comments

• Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I became a sysadmin by going through the McHellDesk gauntlet at a previous employer then at a great helpdesk with the current one. An opening came up for an admin and I applied and was promoted. Check and see if there are internal positions posted within your company. At the same time, see about taking on some higher level work. I was always trying to help the engineers while on the helpdesk and they let me do things that really made me think. Wouldn't be in my position now if they hadn't helped me out.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    alokin123alokin123 Member Posts: 268
    loss4words wrote: »
    Hello guys,