Options

CCENT CCNA Home lab q

dannyboywdannyboyw Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I have been in IT for a short while and looking to break into Networking and more specifically Cisco. I have had some past experience configuring switches but never in a Cisco environment.

Right now I am studying for the ccent exam using CBT nuggets, but instead of the simulators I have tried - cisco packet tracert, GNS3 i would like physical hardware to break/fix and actually configure for real.

im reading lots of different things regarding getting a home lab setup and that there is no right or wrong way of getting one setup, the most useful site I have found it:

certskills dot com / labgear

For both of these exams would 2x 2950 switches and 2x 1721 routers be sufficient and upto date with the new sylibous, or are there any further receommendations that would be a tad better?

Casting your minds back to when (if you have) completed this exam, did you set yourself tasks to complete within your home lab - i feel this would be a good idea but as a cisco newb i am struggling to see where to start to be honest. Should I ensure that the routers and switches configs are wiped before buying - as trying to remove the contents using ciscos password remover seems to be a lot of aggro?

Any advice would be greatly appreicated.

Regards

Comments

• Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Don't be afraid of the password resets that's part of the benefit to owning real equipment. It took me an hour the first time I tried because I was typing one line wrong. I would rather do that now at home then learn it when my boss is in a hurry and wants something up and running.

My advice if you are just starting is buy 1 router and 1 switch. This will get you started and you can add more as you understand why you want them.

Good Luck
  • Options
    TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□