Options

Help Desk Call Center

SpetsRepairSpetsRepair Member Posts: 210 ■■■□□□□□□□
Currently being offered a position in call center for help desk. I dont have much experience in the field so would it be a good place to start? How do these jobs usually go?

Im studying for ccna and some comptia certs

Comments

• Options
    CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My first IT Job was a call center helpdesk. I'd say that the first 6 months were great and I learned a lot. After that time however, the job began to drive me nuts and I hated it due to the fact that I really wasn't learning much else. It was also busy as hell. Non-stop calls coming to you is not fun! I eventually took another gig after 11 months and don't regret it one bit.
    Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens
  • Options
    tstrip007tstrip007 Member Posts: 308 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I started at help desk for a call center and I am still with the company doing mostly admin work now. I thought it was great but then again, I don't know what its like working somewhere else. I'll be happy to answer any specific questions you might have.
  • Options
    SpetsRepairSpetsRepair Member Posts: 210 ■■■□□□□□□□
    This company is saying that there will be opportunity to move up etc... but how accurate can a statement like this be? More than likely im going to take the job anyway.

Quick question, out of everything about working at a call center would customer service be top priority? Answering calls, getting tickets resolved fast etc...
  • Options
    tstrip007tstrip007 Member Posts: 308 ■■■■□□□□□□