Options

Seeking Advice & Guidance

echoesofelevenechoesofeleven Member Posts: 23 ■■■□□□□□□□
Evening!

My name is Marc. I'm currently attending Strayer University in VA. I'm a IT major that's concentrating on Networking. I'm about twelve classes away from finally graduating. As joyful as that sounds I'm quite worried for my future. I'm worried about the social stigma that non-profit colleges have thus being passed up for jobs. Also I don't have much experience in the IT field.

So before I graduated I want to obtain at least 2 certifications. I'm thinking about getting a CCNA certification. I already started my research with that. I found couple great tutorial videos and thankfully this site as well. Right now I'm trying to find a suitable places to learn & gain hands on experience. So my question for someone just starting out what certifications is best suited for networking? What certifications should I first start out with?
Good and close relationships keep us all truly happy

Comments

• Options
    stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    There are many schools of thought on this one, so be prepared to receive a variety of answers. I'll break it down according to the advice I got last year:

1. CompTIA triad: A+, Security+, and Network+. Some can't stand the CompTIA certs, some swear by them. They helped me find two jobs and maybe even two more. So, your mileage may vary. Other than that, they provide foundational knowledge. Can't beat that, honestly.

2. Volunteer at a local charity. Church, shelter, dog park, doesn't matter. You need experience to really get the foot in the door. Not only that, but it also provides valuable contacts for your network.

3. LinkedIn...set up a profile. That allows people to see you and what you've done. It can be much, much longer than your resume, so use it wisely. I'm always looking for ways to improve mine.