Options

CCNA/CCENT help

tushstertushster Member Posts: 9 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey everyone! I started studying for my CCNA earlier this year (May to be exact). I purchased Wendell Odom's ICND1 and ICND2 books. I started reading them and decided I would take the CCNA exam after reading both books. I failed pretty miserably.

Afterwards, I thought I felt a bit overwhelmed jumping directly into the CCNA. On top of that, I got my Network+ before starting to study for Cisco. I think I let that get to my head that with already some networking knowledge, I should be okay. Clearly that was definitely not the right way to go as Cisco does introduce to you A LOT of new concepts.

My next approach was splitting the exams and focusing on the ICND1 separately. Once I pass, then I can move onto the ICND2. I gave myself a good amount of time to study, using the book and watching tutorial videos on YouTube that had a lot of good information. I took the ICND1 exam twice. I failed the first time with a much lower score than anticipated. The second time, I failed again but my score drastically improved, but I'm still not where I am hoping to be.

Basically, I'm at a point where it's clear my current approach doesn't seem to be working and I'm looking for any and all suggestions that would help. I have looked into those 5-day training camps, but my wallet can't handle those prices. On top of that, I don't think I'll be able to soak in all the material, especially going that fast.

This question is for those of you who have taken the CCNA or CCENT ICND1 and ICND2 exams and have passed. If you used Wendell Odom's book, what else did you do in addition that helped you?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Do you have a lab? What sections are you having trouble with?

When I did the CCNA I used mainly Odom and CBT Nuggets, but that has been a while ago now!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options